morbane: woman sprawled on bed next to vinyl record, text "jukebox" (Jukebox)
[personal profile] morbane posting in [community profile] jukebox_fest
Hello!

FIRST: the full Jukebox 2015 schedule is under the cut.

Nominations open: Sun 29 Mar 8pm NZDT | 3am EDT | 7am UTC
Nominations close: Sat 4 Apr 8pm NZST | 4am EDT | 8am UTC

Sign-ups open: Mon 6 Apr 9am NZST | Sun 5 Apr 5pm EDT | Sun 5 Apr 9am UTC
Sign-ups close: Thu 16 Apr 6pm NZST | 2am EDT | 6am UTC

Assignments go out by: Sat 18 Apr 6pm NZST | 2am EDT | 6am UTC

Assignments due: Thu 4 Jun 1pm NZST | Wed 3 Jun 9pm EDT | Thurs 4 Jun 1am UTC
Collection opens: Sun 7 Jun 9am NZST | Sat 6 Jun 5pm EDT | Sat 6 Jun 9pm UTC

Authors revealed: Thu 11 Jun 7:30am NZST | Wed 10 Jun 3:30pm EDT | Wed 10 Jun 7:30pm UTC

I give the times in NZDT or NZST (New Zealand Daylight/Standard Times) first, because that is my time zone. New Zealand time is ahead of almost all other time zones. When it's Saturday for me, it may be Friday for you. Please read the schedule carefully. I will also post "what time is it for me?" gizmos at appropriate points. If you have any other suggestions for how I can make the time clear, lay 'em on me.


SECOND: I am going to open the challenge to podfic artists and visual artists this year.

Here's how it's going to work.

For visual artists:
Visual artists will be required to create one work of minimum 700x700 pixels, or up to three smaller pieces that add to a similar total area. The work must be original and complete.

The work that an artist creates must be a response to their recipient's prompt for a song or music video that is part of this year's tag set. (Same requirement as for writers.)


For podfic artists
Podfic artists must record a story that is based on a song or music video. It must be a minimum of 1,000 words in length. The writer must have given permission for their story to be recorded (either blanket permission, or permission specific to this exchange).

Now the complicated part.

It doesn't make sense to me to match podfic artists & recipients on specific fandoms, because there aren't enough existing stories about songs. So matching is going to have to work more loosely.

Recipients are encouraged to list specific stories that they are interested in receiving as a podfic. However, podfic artists are encouraged to see these as suggestions, rather than restrictions. Recipients are not guaranteed to get a specific story they have requested as a podfic.

Recipients are strongly encouraged to list themes and genres that they're interested in. Podfic artists should keep these in mind when choosing a story to record. Prompts like, "I love stories about ghosts and fairies, and similar supernatural creatures," or "I like stories grounded in the real world - no supernatural elements please," or "I'd prefer slash if possible," or "I'd prefer a story with a female protagonist," are encouraged.

Podfic artists are also encouraged to list themes they are fond of/ not fond of, so that I can tweak matches to try to ensure that artists & recipients have some point in common, or at least not diametrically opposite taste.

Podfic artists must abide by their recipients' Do-Not-Wants.


THIRD: I am going to structure offers and requests in the following manner.

-You can offer podfic only
-You can offer art only
-You can offer fanfic only
-Or you can offer any combination of the above.

-You can request fic only
-You can request fic or art
-You can request fic or podfic
-You can request fic or podfic or art
-HOWEVER, your requests must include a fic request. That is, you cannot request art only, podfic only, or podfic or art only.

(Note: this year I am increasing the maximum number of requests to 8.)

I realise that that could be disappointing to visual artists who only want to receive visual art, or podfic artists, ditto. I have two reasons for this restriction:

-As a mod, I want to be the final line of defense, so to speak, for last minute pinch hits, and fic is the only type of gift I can produce.

-This is the first year of including other media. I see the requirement of a fic request as an intermediary step that allows me some safeguards - especially in matching, because I anticipate that the majority of people will sign up to write.

Finally...
I'm still pondering the problem of anon periods, which I understand have a different impact on visual and podfic artists from their impact on writers. Suggestions welcome.

These rules are open for discussion for a few days - please, please feel free to comment! - and then I will consolidate them into an edited FAQ.

I could use some help with promotional materials. If anyone's willing to help make banners and promote Jukebox on Tumblr, for example, that'd be neat. I am willing to trade beta services? :)

I will put up a brainstorming post at some point around March 20.

(no subject)

Date: 2015-03-01 06:26 am (UTC)
teaotter: a dark haired woman in sunlight (Default)
From: [personal profile] teaotter
The podfic-matching bit confuses me.

Say I request fic or podfic. My requested song/fandoms are A, B, and C. I say I like podfic with supernatural themes or travel.

If I match with a writer, they'll have offered to write one or more of A, B, or C.

But matching me with someone who offers podfic... is just matching me to anyone who offers podfic? And they pick a piece of song-based fiction out there that qualifies as having supernatural themes or travel?

If I want to offer to do podfic, I could get matched to anyone who requested podfic, regardless of their preferred themes or mine?

I'm sorry for asking so many questions, I just want to make sure I understand what I'd be asking for or offering to do.

(no subject)

Date: 2015-03-02 10:38 pm (UTC)
teaotter: a dark haired woman in sunlight (Default)
From: [personal profile] teaotter
Yes, that makes sense. Thank you!

(no subject)

Date: 2015-03-02 06:57 pm (UTC)
el_staplador: (Default)
From: [personal profile] el_staplador
Woohoo!

(no subject)

Date: 2015-03-24 09:39 pm (UTC)
alias_sqbr: "Creative genius" with an arrow pointing to a sketch of me (genius!)
From: [personal profile] alias_sqbr
Yesss. *does a happy fanartist dance* I did a treat last year because I don't feel comfortable committing to writing fic, but I can totally commit to drawing art.

(no subject)

Date: 2015-03-27 03:29 am (UTC)
alias_sqbr: the symbol pi on a pretty background (Default)
From: [personal profile] alias_sqbr

Aw, thanks!

HMMMMMmmm nothing comes to mind but I know I've seen stuff like that around, I'll think about it.

(no subject)

Date: 2015-04-02 02:53 am (UTC)
alias_sqbr: the symbol pi on a pretty background (Default)
From: [personal profile] alias_sqbr

Oh, sorry! Luckily someone was inspired to talk about that too: http://fail-fandomanon.dreamwidth.org/130658.html?thread=679830882#cmt679830882

(no subject)

Date: 2015-04-08 05:31 am (UTC)
alias_sqbr: the symbol pi on a pretty background (Default)
From: [personal profile] alias_sqbr

Haha, I see :)

Profile

Jukebox Fanworks Exchange

June 2017

S M T W T F S
    1 2 3
4567 8910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 23rd, 2017 11:25 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios